Cookie Settings

安培额定值、马力、伏特

  

获得机构认证的所有 Carling Technologies 开关都会将其额定值印于基座上。 Carling Technologies 开关会列出安培伏特马力(适用时)额定值。

电流是电子从一个原子移动到另一个原子的过程。电导体中电子的流动称为电流,单位为安培。 引起电子运动的电压力称为电压。 电压本身不流经导体,而是由力来促使电流流动。 因为如果导体中存在电压,电流便可能流动,因此电压也称为电势。

电机在机械方面采用马力 (HP) 或马力的分数(1/4、1/3、1/2 等)作为单位,1 马力 (1HP) 相当于在 1 分钟内将 33,000 镑重物移动 1 英尺(或者为 33,000 ft-lb/min)。 1 马力 (1HP) 也等于 746 瓦电功率。

电压额定值是开关在开关触点断开时,抑制所产生内部电弧的能力的函数。 Carling Technologies 开关上指定的电压额定值表示开关在达到额定电流时能够正常工作的最大电压。Carling 开关的安培额定值是开关能连续承受的最大电流(单位为安培)。 因此,在下面的示例中,此开关在 250 伏交流电 (VAC) 下的最大安培额定值为 10 安;同一开关在 125 伏交流电下的最大安培额定值为 15 安。

对于要承受高涌流电感负载的开关,如交流电机,除伏特和安培外,将始终采用马力作为单位。 此额定值反映了设备开启时开关触点能够处理的电流量。 首次启动或通电时固定不动,交流电机的电流最高会提升至其运行电流的八倍。 在下面的示例中,当电机在 125 到 250 伏交流电下运行时,开关以 3/4HP 为单位。

Carling Technologies 的典型开关额定值:<10A 250VAC

15A 125VAC
3/4HP 125-250VAC

交流/直流

Carling 同时提供 AC(交流电)和 DC(直流电)开关电压额定值。 AC 或交流电是流向周期性变化的电流或电压,采用正负值交替形式,一个周期的平均值为零。该值每秒变化的次数(或周期)即为其频率。 频率以赫兹 (Hz) 为单位。 每秒的周期越多,频率越高。 北美电“网”采用十分稳定的 60Hz 频率。大多数欧洲国家则以 50Hz 频率为基准。 Carling Technologies 的所有交流电压额定值均符合 50/60Hz 标准,Carling Technologies 的所有机构认证开关均列出了具体的交流电压额定值。

DC 或直流电是可能具有脉冲特性但方向不变的电流或电压。 其相对于地的电势始终相同,其极性既可以是正也可以是负。电池是直流电源的一个示例。

Carling 交流额定值后面接“VAC”,例如,125VAC 表示 125 伏交流电。Carling 交流/直流额定值后面只接“V”,没有字母 AC 和 DC。例如,125V 额定值应读作 125 伏交流电和 125 伏直流电。

直流拇指规则

对于只列出交流电压额定值的开关,可利用“直流拇指规则”来确定开关的最大直流电流额定值。 此“规则”规定,开关上的最高安培值应当满足最高 30 伏直流电的要求。 例如,一个额定值为 10A 250VAC;15A 125VAC;3/4HP 125-250VAC 的开关,可以在 15 安的电流下满足最高 30 伏直流电 (VDC) 的要求。

负载类型

电气负载是系统中任意特定点所存在或需要的电量。 此需求源于用户的能耗设备。 简言之,负载即是您开启和关闭的设备的一部分。

电阻负载主要用于阻碍电流。例如,电阻负载包括电热器、电炉、烤炉、烤箱和熨斗。 如果设备变热并且不动,那么很有可能是电阻负载。

电感负载通常指运动或通常包含电磁铁的设备,例如电机。 例如,电感负载包括电钻、电动搅拌机、风扇、缝纫机和真空清洗器。变压器也会产生电感负载。

高涌流负载与继续运行所需的电流量相比,首次启动时需要更大电流或安培值的负载。灯泡就是一种高涌流负载,首次打开时所需的电流可能是正常工作电流的 20 倍或更高。 通常称之为灯负载。 O其它高涌流负载示例包括开关电源(电容负载)和电机(电感负载)。

UL/CSA 额定值

典型的 UL/CSA 电流额定值是单个值,用于表示电感/电阻负载。 如果列出的是马力额定值,则说明开关适用于以给定马力为单位的电机负载。如果未列出马力额定值,则说明开关经过测试,符合 75% 功率因数下电感/非马力负载的要求。

UL/CSA 额定值的典型示例如下所示:
10A 250VAC
15A 125VAC
3/4HP 125-250VAC

欧洲额定值

典型的欧洲额定值会区分电阻负载额定值和电感负载额定值。 下面是典型欧洲额定值的示例
16(4)A 250V ~ T85 µ

在此示例中,16 = 电阻负载安培数;(4) = 电感负载安培数;A = 安培数;250V = 电压;~ = 交流电;T85= 最高工作温度(摄氏度);µ = 认可的微间隙 (< 3mm)。

如果断开位置处开关触点间的距离小于 3mm,则认为是认可的微间隙 (µ)。 此标志说明,开关已获得通用应用认证,此认证限定其它设备(如线和插头)必须提供从主电源断开的替代方法。

L 和 T 额定值

“L”额定值表示开关仅处理交流电压下钨丝灯初始高涌流的能力。“T”额定值是用于直流的等价灯负载。

H 额定值

“H”额定值表示非电感式电阻额定值。 Carling Technologies 产品信息中列出的额定值可能出现符号“H”或者词语“非电感”或“电阻”。 通常,开关的“H”额定值适用于商用烤炉应用。

发光开关额定值

对于带状态灯的发光开关,线电压应与灯的电压额定值相匹配。例如,如果使用 6 伏直流灯,开关触点应当只处理 6 伏直流线电压;对于 125 伏的霓虹灯,不应使用处理 250 伏交流电的开关。如果与这两个额定值不匹配,则会导致灯的预期寿命缩短或烧坏,或者灯光比预期要暗。

工作温度

除非另有说明,否则所有欧洲认证开关的最高工作温度都能达到 85 摄氏度。 如果直接操作额定值为 T85 的开关,则不应在动作构件的温度(包括任何温升)超过 85 摄氏度的环境下使用。

除非另有说明,否则所有北美认证开关的最高材料温度均能达到 105 摄氏度。

Cookie Settings

Amp Ratings, HP, Volts

  

Any Carling Technologies' switch that has agency approvals will have its ratings stamped on its base. Carling Technologies switch ratings are listed by amperes, volts, and horsepower (when applicable).

Electricity is the movement of electrons from one atom to another. The flow of electrons through an electrical conductor is called electrical current, which is measured in amperes or amps. The electrical pressure necessary to cause this movement is voltage. Voltage itself does not flow through conductors, but is the force that causes current to flow. Voltage is also called electrical potential, because if voltage is present in a conductor, there is potential for current flow.

Motors are rated in horsepower (HP) or fractions of horsepower (1/4, 1/3, 1/2, etc.) Mechanically, one horsepower (1HP) is equal to 33,000 pounds being moved 1 foot in 1 minute (or 33,000ft-lb/min). One horsepower (1HP) is also equal to 746 watts of electrical power.

The voltage rating is a function of a switch's ability to suppress the internal arc that occurs when a switch's contacts open. The voltage rating specified on Carling Technologies' switches represents the maximum voltage allowable for the switch to function properly at the rated current. The amp rating of a Carling switch is the maximum current in amperes the switch will carry continuously. So, in the example below the maximum amp rating for this switch at 250 volts AC (VAC) is 10 amps; the maximum amp rating at 125 volts AC for the same switch is 15 amps.

Switches that are going to be subjected to high-inrush inductive loads, such as an AC motor, will often be rated in horsepower in addition to volts and amps. This rating reflects the amount of current the switch contacts can handle at the moment the device is turned on. An AC motor will draw up to eight times its running current when first turned on or when held stationary while energized (stalled rotor). The switch in the example below would be rated for use with a 3/4HP motor at 125 through 250 volts AC.

Typical Carling Technologies' switch rating:
10A 250VAC
15A 125VAC
3/4HP 125-250VAC

AC/DC

Carling offers both AC (alternating current) and DC (direct current) switch voltage ratings. AC or alternating current is an electric current or voltage that reverses its direction of flow at regular intervals and has alternately positive and negative values, the average value of which over a period of time is zero. The number of times this value changes (or cycles) per second is it's frequency. Frequency is measured in Hertz (Hz). The more cycles per second, the higher the frequency. The electrical "grid" in North America is based on a very stable 60Hz frequency. Most European countries are based on a 50Hz frequency. All of Carling Technologies' AC voltage ratings are listed at 50/60Hz, and all Carling Technologies' agency approved switches will list specific AC voltage ratings.

DC or Direct Current is an electric current or voltage which may have pulsating characteristics, but which does not reverse direction. It's potential is always the same relative to ground, and it's polarity is either positive or negative. A battery is one example of a source of direct current.

A Carling AC rating is followed by "VAC", for example 125VAC is 125 volts AC. Carling AC/DC ratings are followed by "V" only, without the letters AC and DC following. For example a 125V rating would be read as 125 volts AC and 125 volts DC.

DC Rule of Thumb

For those switches that list an AC voltage rating only, the "DC Rule of Thumb" can be applied for determining the switch's maximum DC current rating. This "rule" states the highest amperage on the switch should perform satisfactorily up to 30 volts DC. For example, a switch which is rated at 10A 250VAC; 15A 125VAC; 3/4HP 125-250VAC, will be likely to perform satisfactorily at 15 amps up to 30 volts DC (VDC).

Types of Loads

An electric load is the amount of electric power delivered or required at any specific point or points on a system. The requirement originates at the energy consuming equipment of the consumers. More simply put, a load is the piece of equipment you turn on and off.

Resistive loads primarily offer resistance to the flow of current. Examples of resistive loads include electric heaters, ranges, ovens, toasters, and irons. If the device is supposed to get hot and doesn't move, it's most likely a resistive load.

Inductive loads are usually devices that move and normally include electric magnets, like an electric motor. Examples of inductive loads include such things as power drills, electric mixers, fans, sewing machines, and vacuum cleaners. Transformers also produce inductive loads.

High Inrush loads draw a higher amount of current or amperage when first turned on, compared to the amount of current required to continue running. An example of a high inrush load is a light bulb, which may draw 20 or more times its normal operating current when first turned on. This is often referred to as lamp load. Other examples of loads that have high inrush are switching power supplies (capacitive load) and motors (inductive load).

UL/CSA Ratings

Typical UL/CSA amperage rating is a single value which represents inductive/resistive loads. If a horsepower rating is listed, it indicates the switch is appropriate for use on motor loads that are rated at the given horsepower. If there is no horsepower rating listed, switches are tested to an inductive/non-horsepower load at 75% of the power factor.

A typical example of a UL/CSA Rating is listed below:
10A 250VAC
15A 125VAC
3/4HP 125-250VAC

European Ratings

The typical European rating will distinguish between resistive and inductive load ratings. Below is an example of a typical European rating:
16(4)A 250V ~ T85 µ

In this example the 16 = resistive load amperage; (4) = inductive load amperage; A= amperage; 250V= voltage; ~ = AC; T85= Maximum operating temperature in centigrade; µ = micro-gap (<3mm) approved.

If there is less than 3mm of air space between a switch's contacts in the open position, a micro-gap approval (µ) may be granted. This mark indicates that the switch has general application approval with a qualifier that another device, such as a cord and plug, must provide an alternate means of disconnection from the main power source.

L & T Ratings

An "L" rating denotes the ability of a switch to handle the initial high inrush characteristics of a Tungsten Filament Lamp on AC voltage only. A "T" rating is the equivalent lamp load for DC.

H Rating

An "H" rating denotes a non-inductive resistive rating. Ratings listed in Carling Technologies' product information may appear with the symbol "H" or with the words "non-inductive" or "resistive". "H" ratings are typically required for switches used in commercial oven applications.

Illuminated Switch Ratings

For illuminated switches with dependent lamps, line voltage should match the lamp voltage rating. For instance, if a 6 volt DC lamp is used, then the switch contacts should only be handling 6 volts DC line voltage; a 125Volt Neon lamp, should not be used on switches managing 250Volts AC. Mismatching these two ratings could result in much shorter than expected lamp life or lamp burn out, or dimmer than expected lamp performance.

Operating Temperature

All European certified switches have a maximum operating temperature of 85 degrees Centigrade, unless otherwise noted. Switches rated T85, if directly operated, should not be used in applications where the temperature of the actuating member inclusive of any temperature rise exceeds 85 degrees Centigrade.

Unless otherwise noted, all North American rated switches have a maximum material temperature rating of 105 degrees Centigrade.